“Between the wish and the thing, the world lies waiting.” – All the Pretty Horses

by G Goodman

Strange things are definitely happening.  It’s very interesting what I stumble upon.  I’m stumbling again, but I’m moving forward.

I’m no longer an Au Pair.  It’s a story which, for now, I think is best kept un-embellished upon–it is still fresh in some ways, and also already forgotten in others.  It’s not want I want to talk about right now.

And for people who’ve been reading and checking my blog, and I can see there have been a lot of you, I’m sorry I’ve been MIA for 7 days.  I had to get back up on my feet first.

I’ve been couch surfing again, which I hadn’t expected to be doing.  I finally met someone who I think has profoundly impacted my life in a direct way by sharing a mutual interest in some thing I have always had an interest in, and sharing some astute knowledge about it.  In short, I think I have found an outlet for my analytical skills, my sociological knowledge, my understanding of the market and consumers, my aptitude for long hours on a computer, my ability to be obsessively passionate about and committed to something, and my relatively keen intuition.  Maybe I just found something else to be manic about.  But that’s okay–it’s better than finding something to be depressed about.

I believe that sometimes the best way to discover an interest is to stumble on it.  You have to stumble in a direction, though, and with some gusto, and with your arms wide out–with the caveat of being savvy, smart, aware, and mindful.

And I have a new direction now: I am leaving France for a few weeks and going to Italy.  On the 2nd, Groundhog’s Day in America, I’m taking a train to Torino.  There, I will stay with my father’s best friend’s wife.  Then I’ll visit a dear friend in Novara, then another dear friend is getting married in Cormons, and I am pleased to be in attendance.  If I can, I hope I also visit Milan, Bologna, Venice, and Naples.  We shall see what happens.  I’m broke right now, financially, but I don’t intend to be forever.  Most importantly, I’m rich in friends, in experiences and in ideas, and those are good–maybe even better–things to be rich in.

“Between the wish and the thing, the world lies waiting.”  The world lies waiting.  For you.  So what are you waiting for?  Get stumbling.

