Le Dome du Marais

by G Goodman

I’m playing catch-up here: I’m no longer in Paris; I am in Torino, Italy, but in an effort to not get to terribly far behind on this blog and to keep things chronological, I’m going to attempt to post the rest of my favorite France photos before posting my Italian photos.  The photos you see here are of a very lovely restaurant I had a cup of tea at (like I can afford to eat at a place like this) called Le Dome du Marais, in the very Posh Le Marais district.

In the entrance area is a bookshelf with glass panels and a collection of antique, macabre items which I found really beautifully fascinating…the sculpture below, which is similar to the one I saw in the antique store Au Facteur Cheval.  I think that they are used in funerals because I saw some similar looking things in the tombs of the Pantheon…merde, I have to post pictures of that, too.  I’m so far behind on this blog. #1stworldproblems

Anywho:The photo below–I have no idea what this monument is called and I’m really looking forward to the day when phones have visual recognition–that’s when you can take a photo of something and your computer or iPhone will tell you what it is that you are looking at because half the time I don’t know where I am and what is in front of me.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to “check-in” on my phone just to see where my feet are.  I’ve become one of those awful people who gets high blood pressure without free wifi.  Sorry, but I am in love with technology.  It’s just so damn convenient.  The down part is without it, I’m like Aida in Cold Mountain after the war starts.  I’m just a mess and I don’t know how to do anything.  Come apocalypse, I will be one of the first eaten and I’ll be glad to go.  I’ll do a Facebook update first, though: Bout to get eaten by a cannibal, you guys! Love you!  xoxo

That being said, I did really enjoy the book The Road, and while I highly respect someone’s strength to carry-on with nothing but a shopping cart and plastic bags on his feet, I would totally do what the wife did.  But I digress.

This monument is not technically in the Le Marais district; it’s near Notre Dame, but it was around the metro I got off at when I walked to the restaurant to meet my cousin.
Oh, come on!  Those people don’t know what they are looking at either!

