Sunset at Versailles

by G Goodman

I took these about three weeks ago at the Chateau de Versailles. As I said before, I am in Novara, Italy right now, but I’m going to try to catch up on France right quick, just to keep things together.  All of these were taken with my iPhone 4.  My fingers were ice cubes by the time I took the above photo, which was actually the last one I took on this cold, windy, but beautiful day.  I almost didn’t take the photo because I didn’t want to take my gloves off, but I’m glad that I did.

By the way, the lines in the sky are “chem trails” from Airplanes.  The skies in France are very often peppered with these airplane trails, which I was told are due to planes importing products to the Paris area from around the world.  They look almost like shooting stars…although what they are doing to the air quality is likely not as lovely as the visual effect they make.  It worked out nicely (aesthetically) that they look as if they are coming from the torch…however, it serves as a reminder that humans are leaving behind quite a carbon footprint.  Jeez, Debbie Downer over here with your Green Grumble!  Anyway, please enjoy the following photos…you’ll spot a few more shooting star chem trails if you look closely!




